This is the Iron Springs Elementary News and A/V Club.

They started this school year, 2018-2019 as a brand new club in our school. We create a weekly video news segment for our faculty and students. The students spend most of their time in pre-production and production. Almost all of our equipment has come from grants and donations to the club.

Group01Cover 700

Tell us about your background and how you decided to start teaching TV/Video production?

My name is Dylan Kirklin and I am a graduate of Southern Utah University. I started my career as an intern in Kindergarten and have been working as a 4th grade teacher since that time. I have always been very interested in videography and filming. While I wanted to be a part of Film/News clubs growing up, I used my “free time” in Choirs and Orchestra. This year I volunteered to start an AV/News Club at our school because I knew that students and the entire school would benefit from it.

How did you obtain initial funding for your program? How do you fund the class now?

I asked our principal and he said “Yes!” Principal Jenkins has pretty much said yes to anything I need. I also have been proactive in receiving funding from outside the school. I have been writing grants and have received funding from two of those grants so far.

Did you have equipment available?MinersFlagGreen

I started with one iPad and iMovie. I have built our equipment from there.

How many kids are in the TV/Video Production classes? How is it broken down? Is it a multi-year program?

We have eight Fifth graders who also serve as a part of our school’s Student Leadership Team. Currently we only have those Fifth graders in our Club.

Can you tell us a little more about the sessions: How long are the classes? How many students? What types of projects?