Video & Broadcast Teachers Guide for Better Resources

Anyone who is trying to teach a course in Video Production knows that most of the time, you are on your own to figure this thing out.

What if you had the resources to bring experts into the classroom to teach for you! Have students learn independently from video-based lessons that will take them to the next level and beyond in their productions. 

Resources listed here include many free sites (and a few paid sites) that you can go to and build your arsenal of video-based lessons. Many of the sites are also resources forResourceCheckList-500 video content students can use in their videos.

Instructional Video Sites:
The Grip Guide http://www.Dixelcorps.tv/the_grip_guide (Film Grip Training Videos)
Video Copilot http://www.videocopilot.net/ (Free tutorials and materials for Motion Graphics, Visual FX, SD, etc.)
Lynda.com http://www.lynda.com/Member.asnx (Paid, but well worth it for any software training you need)
GeniusDV http://www.geniusdv.com/ (Free video tutorials for Avid Media Composer and Final Cut)
Digital Juice TV http://www.digitaliuice.com/ditv/default.asrx (Free videos and products you can purchase.)
Vimeo Video School http://vimeo.com/videoschool (A growing collection of video tutorials)
Film Riot http://revision3.com/filmriot (How to make great films ... pg-13 audience, but great stuff)
School Video News http://schoolvideonews.com (Free online video teacher magazine.)
DVX User http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/ (Online Forum great for software/hardware/video)
Creative Cow http://www.creativecow.net/ (great tutorials/ videos and links)
Photoshop Tutorials http://photoshoptutorials.ws/ (great resource for Photoshop tips and tricks)

Media Download Sites: (Audio, Video, and Special FX)
Internet Archives http://www.archive.org/details/prelinger (60,000 free ephemeral films royalty free)
Detonation Films http://www.detonationfilms.com/ (Stock Footage and FX)
Freeplay Music http://freeplaymusic.com/ (Free production music you can download and add to your video.)
Moby Gratis http://www.mobygratis.com/film-music.html (Free film music by Moby)
Digital Juice http://www.digitaliuice.com/ (Sells video animations. stock footage, gear, music, sfx, etc.)
Vimeo Music Store http://vimeo.com/musicstore (Free/Paid film music)
Motion Worship http://www.motionworship.com/ ($50 for non-profits. Great background looped elements.)

Cool Video Links For Inspiration and Modeling
Rhett and Link http://www.youtube.com/user/RhettandLink?feature=watch
OK Go http://www.youtube.com/user/OkGo?featurewatch
In Your Arms http//www.youtube.com/watch?vlOuODuxFATO
In Your Arms Making of: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIH4MJAC2TCI&feature=youtu.be
Mystery GuitarMan http://www.youtube.com/user/MysteryGuitarMan
Freddie W https://www.youtube.com/show/videonamehighschoolvqhs
Vimeo: http://vimeo.com/


Tom Wison, Coordinator of District Media, Video-Journalism and TV-11 at North Canton (OH) Hoover High School invites other school districts interested in building a program to visit and learn about Hoover's journey.  To lean more about the video production and broadcast news programs, visit https://www.northcantonschools.org/home/news/nccs-tv-11/ or contact Tom Wilson at